<

Introducing the Health Care Champion Awards honorees for 2025





Listen to this article

 $\cdot || || \cdot$

organizations and local community. Commercial interests with the Chronicle are not considered. The Chronicle's editorial team, along with a group of past Health Care Champion honorees, examined the nominations, resulting in the selection of 32 of the most influential health care champions across metro Atlanta.

THIS YEAR'S HEALTH CARE CHAMPION AWARDS WINNERS ARE:

Lifetime Achievement

Dr. Valerie Montgomery Rice, president and CEO at Morehouse School of Medicine

Health Care Executives of the Year

Eric Lisle, CEO of Southeast Primary Care Partners

Dr. Joon Lee, CEO of Emory Healthcare

Kevin Brown, president and CEO of Piedmont Healthcare

Dr. Monica Parker, director of outreach, recruitment and engagement at Emory Goizuieta Brain Health Institute

Mercy Care Street Medicine Team

Innovator of the Year - Men's Health

Dr. Leanne Burnham, assistant professor and co-director of Prostate Cancer Precision Prevention Program (PCP3) at Morehouse School of Medicine

Innovators of the Year - Pediatric Health

Dr. Steven Leichter, founder of Endocrine Consultants (now known as Piedmont Physicians Endocrinology, Piedmont Healthcare)

Dr. Katharine Brock, medical program director of the supportive care clinic at Aflac Cancer and Blood Disorders Center at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta

Innovators of the Year - Research

Russell Jeter, assistant professor of mathematics at the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at

Dr. Gustavo Pradilla, chief of neurosurgery at Grady Memorial Hospital

Dr. Wilbur Lam, vice provost for entrepreneurship at

Innovators of the Year - Senior Health

Fayron Epps, founder at Alter Dementia

Dr. Ugochi Ohuabunwa, chief of geriatrics at Grady Memorial Hospital

Melanie Williams-Johnson, physician assistant of Greater Atlanta Women's Healthcare

Dr. Charis Chambers Davidson, OB/GYN and founder of The Period Doctor

Rural Health Care Champions of the Year

Jodie Guest, senior vice chair of the department of epidemiology at Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University

Dr. Michael Carr, project director and principal investigator at Emory Rural Tele-EMS Network (ER-TEMS)

Allied Health Professionals of the Year

Monique Knight, CEO of Comprehensive Family Care

Nashifa Momin, pediatric speech language pathologist at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta

Sherrill Rucker-Peoples, certified therapeutic recreation specialist at Emory Rehabilitation Hospital